Monday Revelation 3:14-22

Prayer: Teach me, Gracious God, how to listen to your through your Word, in Christ. Amen.

Apathy won’t work

20 Listen! I am standing at the door, knocking; if you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in to you and eat with you, and you with me.

Still, it’s all about the money! When we are rich enough to not experience significant hardship, it is easy to become complacent and “lukewarm” like the people of Laodicea. It is easy to become focused on our own pleasures and not pay attention to the needs of those who have problems. It is also easier to ignore the calls of God. Being “lukewarm” is just as bad as being greedy.

17 For you say, “I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing.” You do not realize that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked.

One might remember the story of the emperor who had no clothes. He was so involved with his power and station in life that he did not realize he was naked. For us, also, apathy is not an option. We cannot stand idly by and not be aware of what our children are being taught in schools, nor not realize that there are people in our community who are poor and hungry. God calls to us to get involved in a ministry, yet we don’t hear Him. We need to listen to avoid our faith becoming apathetic.

Prayer: “Persistent God, keep me from being apathetic. Help me answer your call and be hot on fire for you! Amen.”

Revelation 3:14-22

New Revised Standard Version, Anglicised

The Message to Laodicea

14 ‘And to the angel of the church in Laodicea write: The words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the origin of God’s creation:

15 ‘I know your works; you are neither cold nor hot. I wish that you were either cold or hot. 16 So, because you are lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I am about to spit you out of my mouth. 17 For you say, “I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing.” You do not realize that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. 18 Therefore I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire so that you may be rich; and white robes to clothe you and to keep the shame of your nakedness from being seen; and salve to anoint your eyes so that you may see. 19 I reprove and discipline those whom I love. Be earnest, therefore, and repent. 20 Listen! I am standing at the door, knocking; if you hear my voice and open the door, I will come in to you and eat with you, and you with me. 21 To the one who conquers I will give a place with me on my throne, just as I myself conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne. 22 Let anyone who has an ear listen to what the Spirit is saying to the churches.’

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment