Friday Psalm 23

Prayer: Merciful God, thank you for being with us in good times and bad. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Real skin in the game

(Adapted from Christ in Our Home – daily devotions)

Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I fear no evil, for you are with me;
    your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

I had to memorize this psalm when in Sunday School. The words are comforting and soothing and have served believers well for thousands of years. It is noteworthy that it does not bypass grief and sorrow. There is no pretending that there is no hurt or false happiness to “prove” our steadfast faith.

The psalm shows that we can gain comfort not by taking away the challenges, but that God accompanies us through the shadows of our life journey. Our devotion writer declares, “This is comfort with real skin in the game—and investment so profound that the creator of the universe slipped into human skin to live, love, suffer, bleed, and die—descending into the darkest valley to ensure that no matter what we go through, we are never alone.”

It is with this same investment that Christ was raised out of depths of death on the third day, which assured us that we, also, will be raised from the darkest valleys.

Prayer: “God of comfort, you join us in our suffering and transform it. Thank you for being with us. Amen.”

Psalm 23

New Revised Standard Version Updated Edition

Psalm 23

The Divine Shepherd

A Psalm of David.

The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
    He makes me lie down in green pastures;
he leads me beside still waters;
    he restores my soul.
He leads me in right paths
    for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the darkest valley,
    I fear no evil,
for you are with me;
    your rod and your staff,
    they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me
    in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
    my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
    all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
    my whole life long.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment