Wednesday John 14:8-14

Prayer: O God, grant us wisdom to see the truths in your Word, in Christ. Amen.

Philip and James, Apostles

(Adapted from Christ in Our Home – daily devotions)

Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.”

In the previous chapter of John, Jesus washed the feet of His disciples, Judas left to betray Him, and Jesus foretold that Peter would deny Him, and Jesus announced that He would be arrested and killed. Philip was afraid and believes that he only has time for one request of Jesus: “Show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.”

Haven’t we all, at some point, asked similar question(s)? Wanting some sort of evidence of God’s existence? A special miracle? Something that we can grab onto to convince us once and for all that our faith is in a real God? Might you have asked something like: “I just want to see a burning bush like Moses; then I would be sure about God.”

But Jesus answered Philip just as He answers us, “Whover has seen me has seen the Father” (v. 9). Jesus shows us Himself in the faces of the outcasts, and the hungry, and the sick and suffering. And those who are vulnerable. He shows us in His death on the cross and in the resurrection. He shows us in the love that God has shown us that He was willing to come down to earth and show us that He can suffer humanness and still live sinless and feel what we feel. And still have selfless compassion, merciful love, and life-giving power.

11 Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, but if you do not, then believe because of the works themselves. 

Prayer: “Thank you, Jesus, for showing us your Father—and ours—and for coming to us in word and sacrament. Amen.”

John 14:8-14

New Revised Standard Version Updated Edition

Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you all this time, Philip, and you still do not know me? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? 10 Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own, but the Father who dwells in me does his works. 11 Believe me that I am in the Father and the Father is in me, but if you do not, then believe because of the works themselves. 12 Very truly, I tell you, the one who believes in me will also do the works that I do and, in fact, will do greater works than these, because I am going to the Father. 13 I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. 14 If in my name you ask me for anything, I will do it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment