Friday Psalm 4

Prayer: Teach us your ways, O God, through your Word and Holy Spirit. We pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Dark, sacred night

(Adapted from Christ in Our Home – daily devotions)

I will both lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O Lord, make me lie down in safety.

Do you suffer from insomnia? I don’t think I do, but I sympathize with our devotion writer, who goes to sleep quickly, but wakes in the middle of the night and struggles to fall back to sleep. On occasion I find myself awake at 2:30 AM and toss and turn for an hour or so before either getting up for a while, or finally falling asleep. I do occasionally take a sleeping aid, but I don’t like the dull feeling I often get when I wake up in the morning.

Some people use this awake time to see if God has a message that He wants to convey. I think I will try it next time because some find it a good time for prayer and thought. I already experience my mind going over recent experiences and/or thoughts about what I need to do tomorrow. It may, as others experience, a way to fall back to sleep peacefully and faster. OK, God, do you have something you want me to do, or an answer to my questions? Or, can I pray for others who are facing challenges in their lives?

But know that the Lord has set apart the faithful for himself; the Lord hears when I call to him.

Prayer: “Holy Spirit, may I rest in your presence and know peace. Amen.”

Psalm 4

New Revised Standard Version Updated Edition

Psalm 4

Confident Plea for Deliverance from Enemies

To the leader: with stringed instruments. A Psalm of David.

Answer me when I call, O God of my right!
    You gave me room when I was in distress.
    Be gracious to me, and hear my prayer.

How long, you people, shall my honor suffer shame?
    How long will you love vain words and seek after lies? Selah
But know that the Lord has set apart the faithful for himself;
    the Lord hears when I call to him.

When you are disturbed, do not sin;
    ponder it on your beds, and be silent. Selah
Offer right sacrifices,
    and put your trust in the Lord.

There are many who say, “O that we might see some good!
    Let the light of your face shine on us, O Lord!”
You have put gladness in my heart
    more than when their grain and wine abound.

I will both lie down and sleep in peace,
    for you alone, O Lord, make me lie down in safety.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment