Sunday John 15:9-17

Prayer: O God, guide our meditations on your Word this day. May your Spirit guide our thoughts. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Sixth Sunday of Easter

(Adapted from Christ in Our Home – daily devotions)

16 You did not choose me, but I chose you. And I appointed you to go and bear fruit, fruit that will last, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask him in my name. 

Similar to our devotion writer, I remember that I was never the one picked first or second when we chose up teams for sports. I was not a terrific athlete. At least, that is what I learned because I was not among the chosen few like the strong athletes. It was humiliating to be one of the last chosen.

In other situations, I observed that often the most popular classmates were chosen again and again for positions of honor. I was surprised and shocked that I was chosen for the lead role in my Senior Class Play. I think that I was sandbagged by the school’s arts director, because she asked why I signed up for auditions and didn’t show up for tryouts. I never signed up. I never learned just where and how my name came up. But, in my opinion (and a few other’s), I aced the part.

If you remember similar situations in your life, consider how it feels to see that Jesus tells you that He has chosen you? First, we may find it strange that Jesus, the Savior of the World, would choose you, especially since very few others would choose you in life. But we must remember that God has always called people that were not whom society would call. Consider Moses. Moses tried to run away and made up all kinds of excuses as to why he could not lead his people. What about Jesus’ disciples, who were simply common fishermen. God also chose harlots and losers to accomplish His purposes.

So we need take it seriously when Jesus call us. He calls us friends and He chooses us with love and compassion so we can share His love with others. He shows us the heart of God and we bear fruit in spite of what we might think.

Prayer: “Call us, O God, to choose the least and befriend the lost, as you have chosen and befriended us. Amen.”

John 15:9-17

New Revised Standard Version Updated Edition

As the Father has loved me, so I have loved you; abide in my love. 10 If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. 11 I have said these things to you so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.

12 “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. 13 No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command you. 15 I do not call you servants any longer, because the servant does not know what the master is doing, but I have called you friends, because I have made known to you everything that I have heard from my Father. 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you. And I appointed you to go and bear fruit, fruit that will last, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask him in my name. 17 I am giving you these commands so that you may love one another.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment