Friday Psalm 119:33-40

Prayer: O God, thank you for your Word.  Teach us more today in Jesus’ name.  Amen.

More, more, more.

36 Turn my heart to your decrees, and not to selfish gain.

Today our devotion writer writes about money.  A lot of churches today the struggle to make their budgets.  But asking for money can be a delicate issue.  Many churchgoers give as generously as they can.  No matter how much or how little they give consistently.  This type of giving is the foundation of the church’s success.  It makes it possible to do its ministries.

Many years ago, in an adult class about tithing, I learn that timing is about getting 10% of your gross earnings.  The bible says to give of the first fruits.  This means that before taxes before any other deductions you give 10%.  The pastor then, and other pastors and the stewardship chairpersons since, have explained that 10% is the minimum.  Many give more each year than 10% and they still don’t miss it.  God provides them with everything they need.

Still, many people do not fully understand that all we have is a gift from God.  When God has been generous with us it makes sense to be generous to Him.  And there is still gifts of time and talent to consider.  Our devotion writer writes; “how can we invite them to consider technology God’s generosity in their lives and respond to it?  How can we invite them to be a part of the churches ongoing ministry?”

Prayer: “Generous Creator, thank you for providing what is needed for daily living.  Lead me to respond to your abundance in ways that are as generous as your ways.  I ask in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

 

Psalm 119:33-40

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

33 Teach me, O Lord, the way of your statutes,     and I will observe it to the end. 34 Give me understanding, that I may keep your law     and observe it with my whole heart. 35 Lead me in the path of your commandments,     for I delight in it. 36 Turn my heart to your decrees,     and not to selfish gain. 37 Turn my eyes from looking at vanities;     give me life in your ways. 38 Confirm to your servant your promise,     which is for those who fear you. 39 Turn away the disgrace that I dread,     for your ordinances are good. 40 See, I have longed for your precepts;     in your righteousness give me life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

