Thursday Jeremiah 15:15-21

Prayer: Gracious God, teach us through your Word, in Christ. Amen.

An unbalanced diet

16 Your words were found, and I ate them…

Have you ever “devoured a book?” Liked it so much that you couldn’t put it down? Maybe it was the Bible, or at least part of the Bible, because there are some really good parts. That is what Jeremiah’s prophecy images.  Our devotion writer then quotes a saying; “you are what you eat!”

We have learned that “junk food” is all around us and we are tempted to eat it. We are encouraged by our doctors and nutritionist to “eat healthy.” So we can relate to Jeremiah’s words and to our devotion writer, they paint a picture; “I ate the word of the Lord. I wanted so much to become one with God’s promises and God’s love that I ate them. I took them in. I do not want to forget God’s love. I do not want to forget God’s grace that is for me each and every day. So I ate them.”

Of course, we don’t want to be eating pages of the Bible. That won’t make us one with God, but reading and hearing the Word of God regularly will help us keep focused on getting one with God.  It’s how we can make the Word part of our lives.

Prayer: “Holy One, pour your Word into our lives each and every day, through Christ Jesus. Amen.”

 

Jeremiah 15:15-21

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

15 O Lord, you know;     remember me and visit me,     and bring down retribution for me on my persecutors. In your forbearance do not take me away;     know that on your account I suffer insult. 16 Your words were found, and I ate them,     and your words became to me a joy     and the delight of my heart; for I am called by your name,     O Lord, God of hosts. 17 I did not sit in the company of merrymakers,     nor did I rejoice; under the weight of your hand I sat alone,     for you had filled me with indignation. 18 Why is my pain unceasing,     my wound incurable,     refusing to be healed? Truly, you are to me like a deceitful brook,     like waters that fail.

19 Therefore thus says the Lord: If you turn back, I will take you back,     and you shall stand before me. If you utter what is precious, and not what is worthless,     you shall serve as my mouth. It is they who will turn to you,     not you who will turn to them. 20 And I will make you to this people     a fortified wall of bronze; they will fight against you,     but they shall not prevail over you, for I am with you     to save you and deliver you, says the Lord. 21 I will deliver you out of the hand of the wicked,     and redeem you from the grasp of the ruthless.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

