Friday Psalm 119:129-136

Prayer: Great and Wonderful God, thank you for listening to our prayers and teaching us through your Word. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Now I understand

130 The unfolding of your words gives light; it imparts understanding to the simple.

What more do we need to know than that? Our devotion writer tells about teaching Jamie. Jamie had trouble learning new words. Finally, Jamie learned that many words were made up of little words inside. She learned how to breakdown the words into smaller parts and then understand the meanings and the spelling. She learned how words work and then how to read them and understand them.

Through God’s Word, we learn how God works, how His Spirit works, and How it applies to us. Little by little, as our devotion righter tells us, we learn more every time we read it. “The Lord, my God, lights up my darkness” (Psalm 18:28). “God’s light is good, true, holy, and right. Reading and meditating on God’s Word gives us insights to help us walk in this light.”

Prayer: “Spirit of God, draw us into your word and shine your light into our hearts and minds. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

 

Psalm 119:129-136

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

129 Your decrees are wonderful;     therefore my soul keeps them. 130 The unfolding of your words gives light;     it imparts understanding to the simple. 131 With open mouth I pant,     because I long for your commandments. 132 Turn to me and be gracious to me,     as is your custom toward those who love your name. 133 Keep my steps steady according to your promise,     and never let iniquity have dominion over me. 134 Redeem me from human oppression,     that I may keep your precepts. 135 Make your face shine upon your servant,     and teach me your statutes. 136 My eyes shed streams of tears     because your law is not kept.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

