Thursday Psalm 86:11-17

Prayer: O God, let your Word feed our souls and guide our hearts, in Christ. Amen.

Staying focused

11 Teach me your way, O Lord, …give me an undivided heart to revere your name.

No texting while driving.  Even some states laws say, “no phone in your hand while driving.” It is about getting distracted. Driving and texting just don’t go well together and most of us know. It is so tempting, but taking your eyes off the road even for a second can be harmful to your health and safety.

The distractions as we go about our daily lives contributes to dividing our hearts and taking our focus away from God. Our devotion writer asks; “does distracted living lead to divided hearts?” We need to stay focused on God’s presence, but how do we do that? “The Spirit puts God’s Word into our minds and hearts. As we practice living in God’s presence, we become more attuned to the Holy Spirit’s leading during our worship, Bible reading, prayer, work, play, and rest.”

“Ask, and it will be given to you” (Matthew 7:7). Our devotion writer continues; “Because we are created to be in continual fellowship with the Lord, God honors our prayers for undivided hearts and sends the Spirit to us. What a joy to be one in Christ.

Prayer: Holy Spirit, give us undivided hearts and guide us all day, every day. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

 

Psalm 86:11-17

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

11 Teach me your way, O Lord,     that I may walk in your truth;     give me an undivided heart to revere your name. 12 I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart,     and I will glorify your name forever. 13 For great is your steadfast love toward me;     you have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.

14 O God, the insolent rise up against me;     a band of ruffians seeks my life,     and they do not set you before them. 15 But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious,     slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness. 16 Turn to me and be gracious to me;     give your strength to your servant;     save the child of your serving girl. 17 Show me a sign of your favor,     so that those who hate me may see it and be put to shame,     because you, Lord, have helped me and comforted me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

