Wednesday Isaiah 44:6-8

Prayer: O God, let your Word teach us how to share your love and grace. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Spread the news

Do not fear, or be afraid; have I not told you from of old and declared it? You are my witnesses!

The young students Pete and Mark demonstrated the gospel message in a way that many would not recognize. You see Mark, was being teased and bullied by other students and Pete came along and told them to stop. Because he stood up for Mark, Pete was beaten and injured by the bullies.  Like Jesus, Pete stood up to the bullies and took the punishment to save Mark from torment.  Then Mark went around telling everyone what Pete had done for him.

Jesus came and stood up for us, the poor and the sick and the sinful. He gave His life for us so we could go around and tell others what He did for us.  “Don’t be afraid,” He says, “You are my witnesses!”

Our devotion writer explains; “We are called to share the good news of that Jesus has done for us through what we say and what we do. May we be filled with child-like faith and the power of the Holy Spirit, and live up to the examples of these two young boys.”

Prayer: “Dear Lord, help me to reflect the love of Jesus to others through my actions and my words. Amen.”

 

Isaiah 44:6-8

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

Thus says the Lord, the King of Israel,     and his Redeemer, the Lord of hosts: I am the first and I am the last;     besides me there is no god. Who is like me? Let them proclaim it,     let them declare and set it forth before me. Who has announced from of old the things to come?     Let them tell us what is yet to be. Do not fear, or be afraid;     have I not told you from of old and declared it?     You are my witnesses! Is there any god besides me?     There is no other rock; I know not one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

