Wednesday Zechariah 4:1-7

Prayer: O God, teach me through your Word, in Christ. Amen.

On what do I depend?

Not by might, nor by power, but by my spirit, says the Lord of hosts. (vs. 6)

When you feel despair, hurt, fear, or horror, what do you depend on? Whom? When people you know are in shock and mourning what can you do to help? Our devotion writer tells us that these words from Zechariah were posted on the front of the synagogue in Cologne after WWII. “They come from Zechariah’s fifth vision during the post-exile period.  The olive trees are a reminder for the eyes of God. The olive trees are a reminder for the priests to lead the people faithfully.”

What leaders do we look to? Where do we turn when we are faced with chaos? I Zechariah’s words we are reminded that God is always near, but we also need the other people to be like the olive tree. Sometimes just the presence of a friendly person will help to calm the soul. Someone we can understand like a teacher, a coach, a pastor, or a friend.

What do you do when you are called to help someone whose fourteen-year-old boy had just committed suicide?  All you can be is like the olive tree, standing strong in your faith and looking to God in your heart and mind to demonstrate His presence.

On whom, then, do we depend? “Not by might, nor by power, but by my spirit.”

Prayer: “Comforting God, remind us daily that your eyes are upon us. In Christ, our Lord. Amen.”

 

Zechariah 4:1-7

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

Fifth Vision: The Lampstand and Olive Trees

4 The angel who talked with me came again, and wakened me, as one is wakened from sleep. He said to me, “What do you see?” And I said, “I see a lampstand all of gold, with a bowl on the top of it; there are seven lamps on it, with seven lips on each of the lamps that are on the top of it. And by it there are two olive trees, one on the right of the bowl and the other on its left.” I said to the angel who talked with me, “What are these, my lord?” Then the angel who talked with me answered me, “Do you not know what these are?” I said, “No, my lord.” He said to me, “This is the word of the Lord to Zerubbabel: Not by might, nor by power, but by my spirit, says the Lord of hosts. What are you, O great mountain? Before Zerubbabel you shall become a plain; and he shall bring out the top stone amid shouts of ‘Grace, grace to it!’”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

