Monday Jeremiah 18:12-17

Prayer: Lead us, Great and Wonderful God, through the wisdom in your Word. In Jesus’ name. Amen.

Who is your leader?

12 But they say, “It is no use! We will follow our own plans.

God called Jeremiah to tell God’s people to repent and turn from their evil ways. Familiar story, isn’t it? God’s people ignore God’s words and choose to follow their own wisdoms and desires. Idols permit one to use their own justifications and rationalizations. Jeremiah was frustrated and mournful.

Our devotion writer relates that he had times in his life where he decided to follow his own life and make his own decisions.  He knew better what actions to take.  God’s decisions weren’t coming fast enough so he stopped listening for God’s voice.  If this sounds familiar, you are not alone. Often, we have come to believe that our way is the best way and we don’t have time to wait for God’s directions.

But our devotion writer reminds us that in taking our own path we may not find peace or joy. He writes; “I needed to be reminded once again that the Lord is with me constantly and willing to guide when I am willing to listen. God is ready to lead when I am ready to follow. Now I strive daily to recommit to following the true leader of my life.”

Prayer: “Merciful God, today I commit to following you. Lead me in your ways. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

 

Jeremiah 18:12-17

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

Israel’s Stubborn Idolatry

12 But they say, “It is no use! We will follow our own plans, and each of us will act according to the stubbornness of our evil will.”

13 Therefore thus says the Lord: Ask among the nations:     Who has heard the like of this? The virgin Israel has done     a most horrible thing. 14 Does the snow of Lebanon leave     the crags of Sirion? Do the mountain waters run dry,     the cold flowing streams? 15 But my people have forgotten me,     they burn offerings to a delusion; they have stumbled in their ways,     in the ancient roads, and have gone into bypaths,     not the highway, 16 making their land a horror,     a thing to be hissed at forever. All who pass by it are horrified     and shake their heads. 17 Like the wind from the east,     I will scatter them before the enemy. I will show them my back, not my face,     in the day of their calamity.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday Jeremiah 18:12-17

  1. Judith Holley says:

    I was taught to end every prayer with, “Thy will, not mine, be done.” One of the scariest prayer moments of my life was when I had prayed about something I really wanted, outlining in great detail how I wanted my perfect future to be. I ended the prayer with, “And just this once, God, could you please make Your will be the same as mine?” It took about 1.5 seconds for me to frantically rescind and amend that clause to “No, God, I didn’t mean that! I pray that Your will, not mine, be done in this, as in all things.” Almost 40 years later, I am still thanking God on a regular basis that I did not get what I thought I wanted on that day.

Leave a Reply

