Sunday John 14:15-21

Prayer: O God, let the teaching in your Word shine through me for all to see, in Christ. Amen.

Sixth Sunday of Easter

17 This is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, because he abides with you, and he will be in you.

Our devotion writer reminds us of the values that our parents taught us.  Kindness, patience, don’t interrupt, leave things better than when you found them.  Say thank you. Be generous. Accept responsibility.  These things help us live in harmony with others.

Jesus was instructing His disciples (us), in how to live after He ascended into Heaven. That even though He was going away, He would never leave us.  He would be with us and would send the Holy Spirit to be our guide and so we would not forget all the things that Jesus told us. Our devotion writer writes; “This remembrance keeps the Word fresh and alive for us each day. It summons us to live by the higher standard of cardinal truths that Jesus offered: Love one another. Lay down your life for your friends. Be merciful. Hunger for justice. Pray without ceasing. Judge not. As our lives reflect these abiding truths, they are signs that the Spirit of Jesus is alive and active in and for the world, as promised.”

18 “I will not leave you orphaned; I am coming to you. 19 In a little while the world will no longer see me, but you will see me; because I live, you also will live.

Prayer: “Abide in me, O Spirit, so that the world may hear and know your truth, for Jesus’ sake. Amen.”

 

John 14:15-21

New Revised Standard Version (NRSV)

The Promise of the Holy Spirit

15 “If you love me, you will keep my commandments. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, to be with you forever. 17 This is the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, because he abides with you, and he will be in you.

18 “I will not leave you orphaned; I am coming to you. 19 In a little while the world will no longer see me, but you will see me; because I live, you also will live. 20 On that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. 21 They who have my commandments and keep them are those who love me; and those who love me will be loved by my Father, and I will love them and reveal myself to them.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

